ASEAN   (The Association of South East Asian Nations)

AEAN Community – If I were to ask any foreigner getting off a plane in Thailand, “what does ASEAN mean to you?” The usual answer is, “I have no idea”. And why should you! 10 countries in Asia have united to create an Asian business community. It is an Asian union which will accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development. You can read all about the aims and purposes of the ASEAN community in the overview below.

There is already a shortage of English teachers in Thailand but with the formation of the ASEAN community the demand for native speakers is going to increase exponentially in the next 5 years and beyond. As we approach 2017 the Thai government have no choice but to invest heavily in improving the level of English in Thailand. Countries such as The Philippines, Malaysia and Singapore already have exceptional English skills with their young people receiving high quality, intensive language training from an early age. For Thailand to compete in this highly competitive global market it is essential that the youth of Thailand start receiving not only better quality English training but more of it. The average Thai student- and I need to add the lucky ones, currently receive 1 hour of English instruction per week from a foreign teacher. The majority of Thai students get their English training from Thai English teachers. I must add the Thai English teachers do a wonderful job teaching grammar, reading and writing skills but what they lack is the confidence and ability to teach effective speaking,listening and pronunciation skills. This is where you come in.

This is a very exciting time to be an English teacher in Thailand. There are going to be incredible opportunities for foreigners wanting to work and build a career teaching English in Thailand. Effective, communicative teaching techniques are desperately needed in Thailand. TEACHBEACH TEFL can show you how!


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Brunei Darussalam then joined on the 7th of January 1984, Vietnam on 28 July 1995, Laos and Myanmar on the 23rd of July 1997, and Cambodia on the 30th of April 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN.


As set out in the ASEAN Declaration, the aims and purposes of ASEAN are:

  1. To accelerate the economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region through joint endeavours in the spirit of equality and partnership in order to strengthen the foundation for a prosperous and peaceful community of Southeast Asian Nations;
  2. To promote regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law in the relationship among countries of the region and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter;
  3. To promote active collaboration and mutual assistance on matters of common interest in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative fields;
  4. To provide assistance to each other in the form of training and research facilities in the educational, professional, technical and administrative spheres;
  5. To collaborate more effectively for the greater utilisation of their agriculture and industries, the expansion of their trade, including the study of the problems of international commodity trade, the improvement of their transportation and communications facilities and the raising of the living standards of their people.
  6. To maintain close and beneficial cooperation with existing international and regional organisations with similar aims and purposes, and explore all avenues for even closer cooperation among themselves.


In their relations with one another, the ASEAN Member States have adopted the following fundamental principles.

  1. Mutual respect for the independence, sovereignty, equality, territorial integrity, and national identity of all nations.
  2. The right of every State to lead its national existence free from external interference, subversion or coercion.
  3.  Non-interference in the internal affairs of one another
  4. Settlement of differences or disputes by peaceful manner
  5. Renunciation of the threat or use of force
  6. Effective cooperation among themselves